Apple π!

This week I’ve been in the festive mood. Rosh Hashana is today and therefore I’ve been baking up a storm and making LOTS of apple desserts for the sweet new year!

So something that’s become a staple for me, so much so that I even named my blog after it, is my apple pie! The recipe is actually my grandmothers’ and I think as a kid, since I was named after her, I tried to do it justice. It was probably the first ever real dessert I made and is still the only one I’ve memorized.

Finished Apple Pie

Ya, I made that, no big deal

Although I probably change this up every time I make it, this is a rough recipe for my pie dough. It’s not your typical pie dough. It’s more like a cookie dough. That’s why I get a lot of people who claim to “hate” pies, to their surprise really like my version. Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 C white sugar
  • 1/2 C vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • about 2 C flour + extra for rolling out

Then the recipe for the filling is basically this:

  • Lots of apples (about 6), usually Macintosh
  • 1 C sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 C corn starch mixed with 1/2 C water

But I’m continually tasting it to see if its sweet enough, or if there are enough apples to fill the pie. The other option on the filling is to just get it from a can…. I know, I know… apple pie filling from a CAN!? But I work in the food industry, so I have no problem appreciating another food scientist’s work.

Apple pie plate

It even has its own recipe for apple pie on it 🙂

Step one, get a pie pan! Aluminum, glass, ceramic, spring form, I’ve done it ALL. My favorite is anything but spring form. At least with this recipe, do  not do it! Forget about even thinking of doing it. I used to use it for a long time… huge mistake. This one is my current favorite. Ya, it’s pretty awesome.

Mixing the apple pie dough

 

I mix the ingredients in a simple bowl with a fork. Nothing exciting, just your average run-of-mill dingle-hopper (Little Mermaid?). That is until the dough becomes too thick, and then you just use your hands.

I make this dough in a creaming method. First I put in the sugar and oil. Next add in the eggs and vanilla. Making sure its all well combined. Then I add in the salt, baking powder and flour. I usually don’t measure out the flour after the first cup. I stop when it gets to the right “dough” consistency. If you still think the dough is too soft, but has enough flour in it just put it in the fridge covered with plastic wrap for about 1/2 an hour.

Rolling out pie doughAfter that I go ahead and start rolling it out 1/2 the dough into the right thickness, about 0.5cm. Depending on the size of your pie plate, filling and topping design, you should leave roughly half for the top of the pie! The pink rolling-pin in the photo is actually my friends, but is my favorite! Its weighted and makes rolling out dough a breeze! I only wish I had one of my own.

With the dough sheeted, you’ll need to roughly make it about the size of your plate. Making it slightly bigger, is better. you can cut off the excess once it’s on the plate. Now this next step took me far too long to figure out. how do you get the dough ON to your plate!? Make sure it’s floured, and fold it in half and then in half again. Then pick it up, put it on your pie plate so that the triangle corner is in the middle. Then open up the folds and voila! Once this step is complete, cup off the extra and” fork” the whole thing so it doesn’t rise too much in the oven. (By “fork” I mean cover in tiny, evenly spaced holes). Bake for about 15 min, or until JUST cooked at 350. Here you’re not looking for a “golden brown” colour, because it’s going back in the oven later with the filling and top.

Raw to cooked crust

The pie crust before and after

Once theFilled Pie bottom is cooked, you can put in the filling, and cover in any design you choose and bake again! Here I made a crimped edging, which is pretty easy. With your right index and thumb press the dough in. With your left hand press into the space you’ve created to make a design that will impress everyone

Covered Apple Pies

After that roll out more dough and cover it any which way you want! Completely covered is easiest. (I wasn’t kidding when I said I’ve been making a lot of apple pies!) I add in a tiny hole in the middle for the steam to escape though, and because I think it looks nicer.basketweave

Remember to top it off with some extra spices too. This makes it look that much better on the dinner table!

Anyway, in the spirit of a healthy, happy and sweet new year (Jewish or not) try this apple pie recipe and  hopefully you will fall in love with it like I did!


About Adi

A baker, a food scientist and an overall lover of new food creations

One response to “Apple π!

  1. Now you’re just being too clever with your names… show off. In all honesty though this pie looks really really delicious!

Leave a Reply

