Pretzel + Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love coming up with new combinations of yummy baked goods, so much so, that I made it my career! When I read this recipe for pretzel chocolate chip cookies how could I not try them! Even though these are high in sodium it’s, sooo worth it.

pretzel cookiesWhile I got you thinking about salt, or sodium chloride (NaCl). For non-science kids out there, “Na” is the periodic symbol for sodium. So technically, it’s not the salt we hate, just the sodium IN the salt. Sodium makes up about 29% of table salt. In fact, the salt found in packaged food provides roughly 75% of all sodium in the average person’s diet. So really what you have to watch out for is the food you buy, not necessarily the food you make at home. What’s the single biggest source of sodium in our diets? Bread! Anyway, I could probably make a whole post on this topic, but in the mean time I’ll continue with the pretzel cookies –YUM!

Here’s what your going to need to make them:

  • 1 C Salted butterpretzel cookie dough
  • 3/4 C Brown sugar firmly packed
  • 1/2 C White sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 C All purpose flour
  • 1/2 C Large flake oats (not instant or quick)
  • 1 tsp Baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 C Pretzels
  • 1/2 C Semi-Sweet Chocolates
  • 1/2 C puffed rice cereal (Rice Krispies)

pretzel dough dropsFirst preheat your oven to 375. Then using a mixer on medium, cream together the butter and sugars, until the mixture is light and fluffy. Then add the egg and vanilla until it is just combined. In a separate large bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking powder and salt. Add this flour mixture to the butter mixture and stir until combined. Then blend in pretzels and chocolate and then cereal too. Drop these cookies individually onto the pan  and bake for about 9 min in the center rack.

I did change up this recipe, it originally had only 1 C of pretzels, 1 C of medium desiccated unsweetened coconut and baking soda instead of baking powder. I changed it because I don’t like the texture of coconuts and I needed to fill that void of lost dry ingredients with the pretzels. Also, for reasons I don’t completely understand, certain people in my house claim to dislike the taste of baking soda & prefer baking powder. Just in case you’re wondering, they both have sodium bicarbonate in them. Which is why I think it’s all made up.

That all aside, these cookies were still delicious! I definitely suggest you all give these salty/sweet treats a try! Happy baking!

pretzel cookies pile

About Adi

A baker, a food scientist and an overall lover of new food creations

Leave a Reply

