Becoming a Cake Boss Part II

If you read my previous post about “Becoming a Cake Boss” then you’ll already know that I’m taking a cake decorating class! At the first class it was all new. There was tons of equipment to buy, terms I’ve never heard of before and it was a tad over-whelming. Prior to this week’s class we had to bake a cake, make medium and thin icing & of course support the cause and buy more equipment. I guess that’s why they have these classes…

In the end, I created a cake that looked like this! Continue reading to find out about the recipe & techniques I used!

cupcake cake decorated

First lets start off with the cake. I got the recipe for the vanilla cake off of allrecipes.com. Here is a list of what you are going to need to make the cake:

  • 1 C white sugar
  • 1/2 C butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsps vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 3/4 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 C milk

Here is how you should put all of the ingredients found above together:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×9 inch pan or line a muffin pan with paper liners.
  2. In a medium bowl, cream together the sugar and butter. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour and baking powder, add to the creamed mixture and mix well. Finally, stir in the milk until batter is smooth. Pour or spoon batter into the prepared pan.
  3. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes in the preheated oven. Cake is done when it springs back to the touch.

baked cakeSeems easy enough right? Well I baked mine in a 9″ spring form pan and it looked a bit flat. However, this was due to the proportions and not the ingredients. The resulting flavour of this cake is moist but dense. I prefer my vanilla cakes to be moist but fluffy. According to the reviews and comments this is pretty typical for this cake. If you love the taste of sugar cookies, then this is the cake for you! As for myself, I will keep up the search for the best vanilla cake recipe.

To make thick icing, you will need to mix together the following ingredients:

    • 1 tbs margerine or butter
    • 1 C white shortening
    • 1 tsp flavouring, must be clear
    • 7-8 tbsp water (add 2.5 tbsp for medium and another 2.5 to make thin)
    • pinch of salt, mix first with one of the tbsp of water to avoid the crystals showing up when you add colour
Cake Leveler
A Cake Leveler

To start decorating you will need to turn the cake upside down! Since the bottom has the sharpest edges and is the flattest, this will actually be the top. I then cut my cake in half using a cake leveler. When using a cake leveler to cut a cake, remember to spin the cake; keep the leveler stationary. After this you can start to ice the inside of your cake. I first dusted off the crumbs and the created a line about 1/2″ away from the outside egde, called a dam. It helps to seal in your filling, and not let it leak out with you put the top back on. After this I filled the rest of the middle with thin icing.

Turntable

After that I somehow I managed to put the top onto the bottom half. After brushing away more of the crumbs, I iced the top half all the way around. Trying extra hard not to get any crumbs into the icing. While icing it’s important to not let your spatula touch the cake. If you do, just wipe your spatula off and continue. Using the turntable, I was able to spread my icing on evenly.

After this we copied out a design off a cupcake on a peice of parchment paper using piping gel.  A simple and clean design is the best type to copy & ice over. Keep in mind that the gel transfer created will be place onto your cake backwards! Since our design is symmetrical, it didn’t matter. Once the parchment paper with gel was on the cake I lightly patted it down with a small brush, like the kind you used to paint water colours with as a kid. We gently lifted up the parchment paper to reveal our masterpeices, and then began to ice over top of it. I started with the yellow base, because that was the lightest colour. Using a round tip I worked from the base upwards to create ridges. Then I added red to my yellow for the cherry on top. In a seperte bowl I created purple and used this for the cupcake icing and the trim around the base. Since I didn’t have much room on the base I used a star tip and did a simple star design.

And there you have it fine readers of my blog. This is how you too can create your very own 2 tiered vanilla cake with a cupcake design! Hope you enjoyed because my family sure did!

Final Cupcake Cake

About Adi

A baker, a food scientist and an overall lover of new food creations

3 responses to “Becoming a Cake Boss Part II

  1. Uh, I’m not usually one for self-promotion, but when I saw this post, I just had to send you the link to my posts about cake decorating class. I made that same cake! (Mine was not attractive.) Enjoy the rest of the classes – I really did have loads of fun…

    http://movitabeaucraft.wordpress.com/category/stuff/

    • HA! your story is hilarious! I completely agree with the cherry thing too!
      But seriously yours doesn’t look that horrible.
      I’m having my own issues with the class too, my instructor likes to enunciate (which isn’t a problem, its just annoying) & last week I was late so I didn’t buy any of the equipment — so I kept on running out of the class to buy stuff.

      Class Instructor: Next we are going to do a gel transfer
      Me: SHIT was I supposed to get piping gel?! I was definitely supposed to get piping gel… SHIT!
      Class Instructor: (under her breath) it was written out in the manual…
      Cue me running out of the class to the Wilton section in my apron to buy MORE cake decorating things even though I already used my 40% off coupon…

      Hopefully the rest of the classes are good! Check back to find out!

  2. At least we’ve done our bit to support the economy – the Economy of Wilton, that is!

Leave a Reply

