Bite-Sized Pizzas

What’s one of the greatest marketing ploys used these days? Easy, that’s selling a smaller version of a food, that has been around for years, as a completely new product! Don’t believe me? Well maybe you hate cakes, but LOVE cupcakes. What about baby carrots, aka large carrots that have been cut down to an easy to fill Ziploc bag size. Who could forget the summer favorite, mini hamburgers on the mini buns? Obviously, the mini-sized version are far superior than the regular, average, boring burger.  What about bit sized candy-bars? Those are much healthier than the full-sized version, right? Wrong… especially when you eventually count at least 10 empty wrappers. We’ve all been there…

In the spirit of this idea, I introduce to you my home-made bite-sized pizzas! I thought they’d be perfect to make for an office potluck. At those type of events, it’s easier to eat food that you can just grab from the container. It’s a lot harder to try to spoon out some delicious looking concoction when you have a plate in one hand and a cup in the other. Continue on for the recipe and instructions!

Here is the original recipe that I followed to make these pizzas:

  • 1 C water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 3/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 1/4 tsp instant yeast

I mixed this recipe in a standard Kitchenaid mixer with the hook attachment. But of course, if you have a bread maker, you could also just use the dough cycle and do it that way too. I first put in the yeast, water and sugar. This creates the best environment for the yeast to grow in; thus, creating the best dough possible. Next put in your flour, spices and salt. Did you know that salt inhibits the growth of yeast? Technically, you shouldn’t put them directly together, use flour as a “buffer”!

As you can see in the original recipe, it called for all-purpose flour, but alas we were all out. So of course, since I cut corners whenever possible, I just used what was available. If you are like me and are going to be using whole wheat flour, you may want to increase the water by about 1/4 C, you can add in this last quarter towards the end & a little bit at a time. The extra water will help create more “flow”, as they call it in the business. This ultimately helps to create a softer pizza crust. Whole wheat flour soaks up more water and has the tendency to create tougher doughs.

Once the dough was done, I covered it and let it rest for about 10-15 minutes. After that, I rolled it out thin, made perforations and cut out small circular pieces using a round “cut-n-seal” stamp. If you don’t randomly have this gadget lying around your kitchen like I did, then you can use any circular cutter you can find (ex. a cup). I then brushed each small pizza section with olive oil and dry garlic.

After some trial and error I realized that these come out better if you then cook them for about 8-12 minutes on 350 before topping. Remember we’re not fully baking the dough, because we’ll need to melt the cheese too! So half baked is perfect. Mine looked something like this.

While your doughs are cooking you can go ahead and start grating the cheese and preparing all of your toppings. I cut corners and used some frozen, pre-cut veggies. Though I’d love to pretend I have all the time in the world, I don’t! In mine, I put tomato paste, grated fresh zucchinis, frozen cut spinach, onions, green peppers, cheddar cheese, mozzarella and parmesan. Get creative and put your favorite toppings on! After your done topping the pizzas, bake them in the oven for about 15-20min or until the cheese is melted.

Once they were done I wrapped it all up in tin-foil and carried them off to work. Of course everyone at the office told me they tasted good and were highly original. Which proves my point, that taking a product people have seen for years and making it “bite-sized” is always a crowd pleaser. That, or people at work are very polite.

About Adi

A baker, a food scientist and an overall lover of new food creations

One response to “Bite-Sized Pizzas

  1. wink wink nudge nudge

    these look deadly! I’ll be making them 🙂

Leave a Reply

