Becoming a Cake Boss Part IV

This is the 4th, and last installment of Becoming a Cake Boss, aka my foray into cake decorating. Since there are only 4 classes in total, this was also graduation day! When I asked the instructor if everyone graduates, she said, “Yeah, pretty much. Though I have failed someone before. It was because they refused to do anything.” … I’m not really sure why one would pay for a class to just sit and do nothing… but who am I to judge?

The homework for this class was to make and bring fully iced cake of our choice. I made chocolate cake with cream cheese & toffee filling! My final cake looked like this! If you’d like to see how I did it, and find a delicious & easy chocolate cake recipe then I think you should continue reading!

So lets first start off with the recipe, which I got from BestMoistChocolateCakeRecipe.com

  • 2 C all-purpose flour
  • 2 C sugar
  • 3/4 cocoa
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder (optional)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 C buttermilk*
  • 1 C vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 C boiling water

*If you don’t have buttermilk, you can always use regular milk + 1tbs of lemon juice. Let it stand for 5 minutes to allow the acidity of the lemon juice to curdle & thicken the milk and also create the sour taste that is more reminiscent of buttermilk.

Here are the instructions…

  1. Preheat Oven to 300° F,
  2. Place all the ingredients, except the cup of boiling water, into a mixing bowl
  3. Mix at medium to high speed for 1 minute. Then add the 1 cup of boiling water.
  4. Continue to mix until all of the ingredients are blended and smooth
  5. Pour into greased and floured baking dish and bake for 1 hour

Once the cake was done, I cut it in half (using my cake leveler). Created a dam of icing around the edge (so the filling doesn’t seep out), and spread the cream cheese frosting in the middle. Then sprinkled with skor pieces! I think this extra addition of crunchy-sweetness gives that extra something-something to the cake. Once complete I iced the entire thing in white butter-cream. This is a lot easier said than done on a chocolate cake! The dark crumbs make it nearly impossible, for a rookie, to create a truly white frosted cake. All things considered, like how I was late, I think I did a pretty good job! The trick is not rushing… which is always hard to do when you’re behind schedule! Once I was done it was off to learn how to decorate it!

The main goal of this lesson was to learn how to make a ribbon rose. It requires tips 12 and 104. Once everyone was getting their supplies together I realized I had to run out and support the Wilton people… of course I would be the one to leave tip 12 at home. Using a flower nail, which is a little platform that you can easily turn, a rose template and a peice of wax paper you can begin to create this floral decoration. Using the rounded tip 12 you create a base, my instructor called it a Hershey Kiss, really its just a small cone. Then starting from the top, using the flatter tip (104), you can swirl your way down the cone. Position the bag so that the wide end of the tip is down. Once you get to the bottom, stop and lift the bag away. Our instructor told us that you should always try to create an odd number of roses. Apparently the average person’s eye will see something wrong with an even number. I’m not sure if that’s 100% true, but I made 5 just in case. In addition, never place your roses flat on your cake! Use any tip to create a base for the flowers to rest on. Doing this will allow your flowers face different directions. The variation in angles create a more dynamic cake that will have everyone giving you compliments.

After we made our roses we practiced writing out common phrases, like Happy Birthday or Congratulations. We did this in block letters & fancy cursive. The trick to writing cleanly is not going over a line twice. This can be hard for letters like d, p, h and i, but you’ll notice the bolded lines if you don’t. Other people in the class were taking their cakes to birthday parties or thanksgiving dinners. So they had easy slogans for their cakes. I had none of the above…. Although I debated writing “Eat me!”, instead I went with “Have a great day!”.

With that being said, I hope everyone has a great day today! Maybe if your lucky you’ll even get to eat some cake too!

About Adi

A baker, a food scientist and an overall lover of new food creations

5 responses to “Becoming a Cake Boss Part IV

  1. wink wink nudge nudge

    fun. fun. such fun.
    I like the new set up, but how do I navigate around now? perhaps some side tab options? You can only go forward and backwards….not to another entry.

    I want that cake. STAT. Who’d you give it to?/who ate it?!?!?!?!

    • This layout doesn’t have a side-bar option, just areas for my widgets at the bottom.
      But I bought the domain for squarerootofapplepie.com, so stay tuned for another new layout on a new site

      About the delicious cake, I wanted try it so I just called everyone downstairs and we cracked it open together 🙂

  2. Lorraine

    I want to take cake decorating classes even more now! The roses look great.
    Will you take more classes involving fondant?

  3. found your site on yahoo and was just what i was looking for, keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

