Birthday Strawberry Cheesecake

So since I have officially become the cake baker in my family, mostly self-imposed… I was the one left with the task of baking my sister’s birthday cake. Her favorite is strawberry cheesecake, so that is what I baked for her. Happy Birthday Sister #1!

Find out the recipe, design techniques and funny story about me burning a cheese cake by clicking the continue reading button!

The recipe, courtesy of Kraft, although it has been modified slightly, is as follows:

The Crust:
  • 1 1/4 C graham crumbs
  • 1/4 C melted butter
The Main Cheesecake Part:
  • 3 pkg. (250 g each) cream cheese, softened*
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1 Tbsp flour
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 C sour cream
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 C strawberry jam

*by softened they mean left out of the fridge for more than 1/2 an hour

First, I pre-heated the oven to 325F. Next I lined a pan with aluminum foil and sprayed it with oil. I started the cake by making the crust. In a bowl I mixed the graham cracker crumbs with the pre-melted butter. Once it was combined I pressed it into the bottom of my spring form pan. Next I mixed the cake part together. Beating the cream cheese, sugar, flour and vanilla first, in a mixer with a paddle, until well blended. Add sour cream and mix well. Then add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating on low speed after each just until blended. Once done, pour over the crust.

Now what I did next, strays from the recipe a little bit. I adding the strawberry jam to the top. First I heated up the jam so it was more runny. Then I spread it over the top of the mixture. Using a knife I scraped through the batter to create this extremly cool design. Once it was done, I put it in the oven for about 1 hour to 1h 15 minutes; though the original recipe says 45 minutes tops, I think they lied. That, and a spring form pan makes this cake thicker and thus needs more time to bake. You’ll know the cake it done once it “sets”. Check to see if this cake is done by giggling it, if it moves, it hasn’t set yet. Leave it in the oven for a little while longer. Another trick is not falling asleep while baking a cake. Seriously, no one likes to look at a brown cheesecake.

Fixing the brown topped cheese cake was fairly easy! I just cut up, about a cup of strawberries and put them all on top. Next, I sprayed some whip cream on the top too. Everyone loves whip cream & strawberries. Everyone also likes to spray the whip cream into their mouth, but maybe don’t do that… it’s kind of tad unsanitary but very fun. 

Anyway, I suggest you all try this recipe out, maybe just don’t start it at 10:30 at night. You run the risk of falling asleep before it’s finished. But if you’re lucky you’ll also have an extremely nice sister who loves a cake you make for her, regardless of the colour.

About Adi

A baker, a food scientist and an overall lover of new food creations

3 responses to “Birthday Strawberry Cheesecake

  1. Magnificent! (As usual. 😛 )

Leave a Reply

