What I ate for dinner…

My sister said people would be interested in this, I truly hope she’s right.

I have a secret… sometimes, I cook. I know, I claim to only know how to bake, but then I make things that look (and taste) pretty decent. So, today ladies and gentlemen, (assuming men read this blog), I present to you “What I ate for dinner”:

My DinnerGrilled Chicken with Quinoa Stir Fry

Continue reading for a recipe & a quick lesson on how to defrost chicken…

It looks like I eat pretty healthy too doesn’t it? But what you don’t know is that for dessert I had chocolate cheese cake… but forget about that & let’s concentrate on the healthy dinner! Since this is cooking & not baking, i.e throwing random things in a pan is acceptable, I’ll tell you the ingredients but with no measurements.

Ingredients

  • Cooked Quinoa*
  • Sliced & Halved Zucchini
  • Chopped Carrots
  • Corn
  • Chopped Green Beans
  • Edamame
  • Chopped Onion
  • Chopped Garlic
  • Chicken
  • Soy Sauce
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Vegetable seasoning

*Cook quinoa the same way you would rice. Let the water boil  (2 water:1 quinoa), add the grain let cook for about 15 minutes covered. Uncover, take off heat & fluff with a fork. Disregard what I said and follow the instructions if your packaging has different advice.

The chicken I used was originally frozen (completely). Ideally I would have planned ahead and taken it out of the freezer & left it in the fridge to defrost. Which, by the way, is the correct method of defrosting. By correct, I mean, the safest way of defrosting a food product (that affects the taste of the meat the least). However, since I forgot I had to do the next best thing. Stick it in the microwave till it wasn’t frozen in the middle. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve caught my mom running hot water over a large piece of chicken in hopes it would defrost in time. It’s wrong on so many levels, but the most important one that I think resonates best with people is this one: “Did you know that often your kitchen sink is dirtier than your bathroom toilet?” Sure, you disinfect your toilet. When’s the last time you did that to your sink? All of that food debris is just a breeding ground for bacteria! So please please please, safely defrost your meat!

In the end, I think the meal turned out well for the baker. Not interested and think my sister was wrong? Think my dinner could use another ingredient? Maybe your sink is the exception, and it’s clean enough to eat off of. If you got something to say, let me know by leaving a comment. 

About Adi

A baker, a food scientist and an overall lover of new food creations

3 responses to “What I ate for dinner…

  1. Lorraine

    Your sister is right!! I’ve gotten a lot more immersed in trying new recipes now so perfect timing 🙂 we should swap recipes!

Leave a Reply

